“Keep an open mind”

· Personal Views, Science
Authors

One of the many admonishments I receive from others is that I’m not “open minded” or that “There is more to life than just science.”

Often that is the response from those who are annoyed with me because I don’t share their infatuation with dead middle eastern deities or endorse their latest “alternative medicine” magic brew”.

Today I found a blog that echoes my thoughts pretty much to the letter.  This blogger (who writes under a pseudonym Skeptical Raptor) has taken the time to articulate everything I would have written myself.

http://www.skepticalraptor.com/skepticalraptorblog.php/pseudoscience-fool/

3 Comments

Comments RSS
  1. Sara

    I was open minded and read the blog you shared. I’m of the mindset that there is a spiritual dimension, that there are things that can’t be explained, and that science is good. This, for me, means I am open minded to ideas that aren’t based in science… as long as it isn’t harmful. For example, I like oils, but think it’s ridiculous and potentially dangerous to believe they will heal a multitude (or any) ailments. I like the way they smell and how they make me feel emotionally. If they happen to have some medicinal properties, great… but I won’t rely on them in place of medicine. You know I respect you and think you’re a good guy, but we will disagree on some things. That’s okay because my Magic Eight Ball tells me “all signs point to yes” when I ask if you’re a true friend. πŸ˜€

    • seriousscience

      There are a great many things for which there is no quantifiable scientific explanation….YET πŸ™‚ We may not know the scientific explanation for something, but that doesn’t mean we won’t have one in the future.

      Science is also never truly solved. Our current, stronlgly supported evidence can be changed by equally strong evidence.

      • Sara

        Magic Eight Ball answer to that is, “Don’t count on it.” πŸ˜‰ ❀

Leave a Reply

